Author Topic: Normal maps  (Read 3075 times)

nalwesh

Normal maps
« on: June 19, 2012, 01:14:42 AM »
Hi
I just started using the viewer and it is quite nice and easy to use.
I would like to know if the normal maps should be in tangent or object space?
and since I am a newbie in normal maps excuse my next question but I noticed that if my normal map was normal.png  the viewer generates a normal.png#DOT3# image and was wondering what exactly is that? Thanks

Nawar

jerome_j

• Administrator
    • Bonzai Engine
Re: Normal maps
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2012, 10:43:50 AM »
The engine (and viewer) only support tangent space normal map.

In some model format, only height map is supported or specified. The #DOT3# appender convert the height map into a normal map during the texture loading. Let me know if your texture is already already a normal map, and the viewer wrongly tries to convert it using #DOT3#.

nalwesh

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2012, 10:13:37 PM »
Thanks for your quick reply. Unfortunately I generate  my normal map is in object space and need to find a way to convert it to tangent space, but from my reading it seems that each viewer has its own way of interpreting normal maps in tangent space, does that mean if I want to generate normal maps in tangent space and use the bonzai viewer that I need to know exactly how normal maps are interpreted in bonzai?

jerome_j

• Administrator
    • Bonzai Engine
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2012, 10:28:46 PM »
There's only one way to interprete tangent space. While object space normal map store normals in the model axis system, tangent space normal map stores normals in tangent space, which is an axis system local to a polygon (triangle).

The engine currently only implements shaders for tangent space normal map, but if you provide your own shaders which are working with object space normal, then it will work.

There's some tools like nSpace which are able to convert from object to tangent space.